Fun at the Gilbert Folk Festival

IMG_1149Well, I had a great time. What’s not to love? So many wonderful musician friends! I learned a few things, some are hard lessons about myself however: 1) 8:30 AM is a dangerous time to play as my “little gray cells” are not yet fully saturated with caffeine. 2) The Bergie’s Coffee Roast House staff are really nice people and they make good coffee. 3) I should never “wing it”,¬†without a rehearsed set-list, at that early hour, at my age, anymore. I suffered momentary loss of lyrics and chords to a couple of my own songs! Good thing it was friendly crowd, many of whom sported gray hair like I do. So I just kept going. 4) I have some really talented friends. (I knew that already but they reminded me) Among them was Mark Fogelson from out in Apache Junction. He delivers really good humor with his set, which included a song about a colonoscopy (I sh## you not!).

Steve Decker& Lon Austin-At Bergies

Steve Decker& Lon Austin-At Bergies

And it was great to visit again with Steve Decker who played with Lon Austin, not once, but twice. And Billy Cioffi was on his “A” game as were the wonderful JC & Laney.

JC & Laney at Gilbert Folk Festival

JC & Laney at Gilbert Folk Festival

I enjoyed Joe Bethancourt (I always do) delivering the educational and weird side of homespun music. And I finally met Jim Pipkin whose songs feel like comfortable shoes a man could wear every day.

JoesBBQ-Gilbert

Joe’s Real BBQ in Gilbert

Making the event even more enjoyable was having lunch next door to Bergies at Joe’s REAL Barbeque – where they smoke meat with Pecan wood. It was darn fine. Heck, I’ll drive the forty-eight miles just to eat there again. All-in-all, it was a load of Fun and I thank organizer Bob Zucker, of the Higley Center for the Performing Arts, for the chance to play and hope to do so again next year. ¬†I’ll even take the early morning slot, if it’s at Bergie’s!

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell Elmer Rodgers

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Events, Folk, General Conversation, Guitars, Music, Music Performance, songwriter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fun at the Gilbert Folk Festival

  1. Jim Pipkin says:

    Pleasure meeting both you and Bride, Darrell! What a great day for it!!

Leave a Reply

