She’s Flown the Coop

Another Chapter in Fatherhood and Home Ownership

Well my youngest daughter just flew away.  She’s going to do a year of service at the Green Acre Baha’i School in Eliot, Maine.  I warned her – it’s COLD there.  It’s a lot colder than Tucson where she’s been for the past year and a half.  But she’s following her heart that tells her it’s time to serve the Faith she professes. 

You see, she just returned from a pilgrimage to the Baha’i World Center in Haifa, Israel.  She visited and prayed in the Baha’i holy shrines and met many devoted followers of Baha’u’llah.  She’s ready to do this now.

Being a Baha’i myself, I’m proud to see her serve.  But being a dad, I worry.  Will she ever complete her college education that has just been interrupted?  And even more worrisome: Will it cost her old man even MORE when she returns? 

Now, here’s the bigger struggle:  What do I do with my little house in Tucson?  Both my daughters lived there while attending the University of Arizona. It’s in a great location near the campus.  I could sell it, but the market sucks right now.  I could rent it out, but being an absentee landlord might drive me crazy.  Or, I could move into it.  But leaving Imperial Beach for the hot, dry desert is not my idea of moving the right direction. 

I DO have some wonderful friends there in Tucson.  And that sprawling town has a lot of nooks and crannies to explore.  But we have the Pacific Ocean for crying out loud! 

The neighborhood there is only a little more quiet than the one I live in now, but the sounds are different.  Perhaps it will change my songwriting. 

Well this will be on my mind for the next few days.  Pros and Cons (“Franklin T”).  Part of the problem is that this time of year makes Tucson look better, and makes IB look worse.  Were we making this decision in June, we might have a completely different attitude.

///Darrell

Darrell Rodgers                                             
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
http://darrellsongs.com
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation, songwriter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She’s Flown the Coop

  1. Sarah says:

    Here’s part of a long reply from my Daughter Sarah, whom I love and adore – Darrell:

    Of course I’ll be finishing my education upon my return;… You can trust me dad. … becoming a veterinarian has been my goal since I was eight. I have thought and continue to think things through. I have a plan; I know it has to be flexible and it is. Currently, I am on the part which involves doing my year of service and becoming closer to and more involved in the Baha’i world.

    As for the finances… I appreciate your fincancial backing for my education and living expenses.
    …Don’t stress too much… I love you, dad, and I want you to be happy and free of troubles, both in this realm and in that of the spirit…

    Everything in this life will change, in one way or another, and we have to be able and willing to change with it. We pray for best and prepare for the worst, and it eventually evens out. You do not need to worry about whether I will make it to that final step and be the vet I always wanted to be; because what happens does so for a reason.

    I love you dad; I always will. It is true that I will have days when I am less than wishing for your company, and vica versa. … But I want you to remember that EVERYthing will turn out just fine.

    I am going to be a veterinarian because I love animals and I feel that, as the writings say, we should take care of them. The writings tell us that an animal’s purpose is to serve us and that it is our responsibility to provide for and help them, keeping them healthy and safe. As for my year of service, I felt the call. And even though I have been here only a week, it has been the best decision I have made in a long time. I feel so much farther removed from earthly afflictions and so much closer to His heart.

Leave a Reply

