We’re moving to Tucson

Decision made.  We’re moving in a couple weeks to our little house in Tucson.  It’s an old post-war brick rambler that I can best describe as a great kitchen with and old house around it. 

AZ House 1 AZ House 2Kitchen

It’s undergone a few changes through the years, all done with the quality of a do-it-yourselfer, I’m afraid.  Oh well, it will give me plenty of “happy homeowner” moments in the coming months as I try to fix things.  We’re at the house now, taking advantage of business travel to Arizona, to get in some cleaning and repairs over the weekend.

Living in two places is difficult.  So often I need something I have, but realize I didn’t bring it.  And because I have one in California, I’m reluctant to go buy anther one in Arizona.  I guess we just need to get moved in completely!

I brought along most of studio stuff.  I want to do some “live” recording in my living room while it’s still empty.  It has a great reverb.  I’m not expecting any great tracks, I just want to have a little fun. 

I’ve had some good song writing ideas lately – some generated by the stress of moving.  How ‘bout this for a title: “The Honeymoon’s Over Blues.”

She used to greet me at the door in a sexy negligee’
Now baggy pants and sweat-shirts is what she wears all day
I’d get up and make her coffee, now I just hit the “snooze”
I guess I’m just afflicted with them Honeymoon’s Over Blues

Ha! That’ll be a good one.

///Darrell
Darrell Rodgers                                             
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
PS –
I’m evaluating a multi-media course on blogging from the folks at Simpleology. For a while, they’re letting you snag it for free if you post about it on your blog.

It covers:

  • The best blogging techniques.
  • How to get traffic to your blog.
  • How to turn your blog into money.

I’ll let you know what I think once I’ve had a chance to check it out. Meanwhile, go grab yours while it’s still free.

About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation, songwriter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We’re moving to Tucson

  1. Gregg says:

    Here’s a comment from Gregg who just launched his musician-oriented blog at http://getadose.wordpress.com

    Thanks for the welcome Darrell.
    I’m in a musical performing rut and I thought I might not be the only one so I started the blog. I’ve been performing at sports bars, restaurants, etc and I’m just tired of playing so many cover songs. I’m a songwriter at heart and I’ve ventured away from my true passion to please the masses.
    With the tools now available via the internet I might just start being a recording artist and cut back on the regular live shows.
    I’m beginning work on a Mississippi Katrina benefit CD. Mississippi is still trying to recover and they didn’t get near the help Louisianna did. My step son lived in Hattiesburg when Katrina struck and my wife and I went down with a truck and a u-haul full of supplies for the area. The trip put a special place in our hearts for the people of Hattiesburg/Biloxi.
    Now that the news crews have moved on to the latest big news story a lot of the support has fell off. I thought a CD project might pump a little bit of help back in to the area.
    What’s your musical story?

    Best to you,
    Gregg

  2. Darrell says:

    Gregg,
    You are a noble man! Your generous spirit is an example to us all. I haven’t been down to the gulf coast since Katrina but I know some good people there – even one in Hattiesburg. Best of luck with your CD project. I hope it’s a huge success in a number of ways.
    I understand your frustration with your gigs. As my swongwriter friend Alan James says, “In bars and restaurants, the musician is just the “loss leader” for beer sales”. The crowd wants dance tunes, the owner want’s drinking tunes. But we songwriters want to touch hearts.
    Some of my musician singer-songwriter friends are doing concerts at coffee shops and book stores mainly as a way to promote their own CD sales. Once you have product, you really need to promote it with live performances. Your new blog is a great step in establishing your songwriting fan base. In this day of digital sales, you don’t even really need a physical CD – you can have downloadable tunes right on your blog site. I recommend you check out my producer friend Jarome Matthew’s blog at http://www.jarome.com He’s put together a training course on building your music business on the web. He helped me get rolling.

    ///Darrell

Leave a Reply

