Music Recording Thwarted Again

Oh well, it was a great idea.  Recording some of my songs in that empty “live” living room with the hardwood floor was going to fun.  But alas, it was not to be.  Mostly, I cleaned and fixed things when I wasn’t driving or flying to business meetings for my “day” job (hey it pays the bills!).  But I did play one of my electric guitars in there and loved the natural reverb I heard.  I had some lyrics inspirations for a new blues tune I’m working on:

“Lullaby in Blue”
The loneliness echoes off the silence of home.
Your lover has gone and you’re again on your own.
You dreamed of a life as husband and wife,
Now the shards of those dreams stab your heart like a knife.
You sang your love song, now love is gone,
But tonight there’s something you can do,
Find a new dream to keep,
Sing yourself to sleep,
with a Lullaby in Blue.

(Dedicated to a young lady I know who is going through some changes)

I met some of my neighbors in Tucson during this trip.  Greg from across the street gave us a bag of fresh-picked tangerines from his own tree – delicious.  Now I’ll have to revive the orange trees beside my house to return the favor one day.  Those poor trees really got hit hard by record-setting summer heat but were sadly neglected by the watering department.  There’s still hope though and I believe they will come around.

I can’t end this post without expressing my gratitude to DMJ Contracting here in Tucson.  The back corner of my house (on my “studio” room) was sagging – victim of improper “water management”.  But Dan Jensen and his crew did an excellent job of putting things right.  It’s amazing what can be done with some concrete and a 20-ton house jack.  Thanks Dan!

///Darrell
Darrell Rodgers                                             
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in blues, General Conversation, Music, Music Recording, songwriter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

