Tough Week and a Half

What a week and a half this has been!  Although we’ve been working on unpacking non-stop, we’re still up to our butt in boxes.  (That’s down from “chin” level)  My body aches in places I forgot I had.  I managed to reassemble some of the furniture I took apart for the move, but I still haven’t rebuilt my desk or my bride’s desk.  So, we’re working at the dining room table. The cable company came last week and installed TV and internet and yesterday they installed our phones.  And to complicate things, my “day job” schedule is intense right now and I’ve had to drive to Scottsdale 4 of the past 5 workdays.

But enough of those woes – I have some musical news for you.  My dear friend Brian Taraz has formed a trio called “Nahum” with two other local musicians and is doing his “scripture rock” for the upcoming “Peace Festival” here in Tucson this Saturday.  (Good Luck Brian!)  If you’ve never heard the King James Bible performed as a Rock’n’Roll song, well you just haven’t heard everything yet.  It’s impressive.

Hey, I forgot to mention in my last post that I composed a new song on the trip in the rental truck.  It’s different than most everything else I’ve written.  I may offer it to someone else to record.  It’s called “Sex as a Weapon” – don’t ask, but it’s not as bad as it sounds.  Sometimes I get a song so quickly, I’m amazed by it.  This was one of those cases.  Perhaps I should call it “300 miles” because that’s about how long it took.  It makes me anxious to get this moving-in chore behind me so I can re-assemble my recording equipment and get some music produced.

Tonight is special.  Not because there’s a lunar eclipse to view, but because my dear 82-year-old mother is flying to Tucson tonight.  Believe it or not, she’s coming to help us paint!  She’s quite the house painter.  (don’t be surprised, she still mows her own grass and then mows the neighbor’s yard for fun)  I’m sure she’ll work circles around us, but that’s a good thing.

///Darrell
Darrell Rodgers                                             
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation, Music Recording, songwriter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tough Week and a Half

  1. Brian says:

    Howdy Brother Darrell,

    You arrive here in Tucson none too soon! 🙂
    Thanks for your kind “plug” for NAHüM. I hope and the lovely Deb, and the painting mom, will be able to take a little break and either come down to the park on Saturday or up to the House on Sunday.

    Sarah (my wife – not your daughter) and the kids (my kidz – not your daughter’s – oops! Did she not mention them? :-)) and I are totally stoked that you’re here.

    Your gonna love it – at least till summer is going full throttle – and its gonna love you and Deb back.

    Great people. Great little town.

    I call it “The Land of TA” on account of Tucson starts with “T” and Arizona starts with “A”. I think you catch my meaning though, right?

    Anyway . . . love and more love.

    Brian

  2. Deb and I along with my “painting mom” saw Brian’s band “Nahum” perform at the Tucson Peace Fest. THEY ROCKED!!

    Great show Brian! Good luck to all of you.

    ///Darrell

Leave a Reply

