Incredible Mom

I don’t have an excuse for being tired because my 82-year-old mother has done all the work.  This woman is incredible.  Not only did she paint our house, right now she’s doing yard work that I planned to ignore for another week.  She works circles around all of us.

Yesterday however we took a break and drove to Mount Lemon for a cookie at the “Cookie Cabin”.  On the way down we stopped to take pictures of the magnificent views from the mountaintop.  We hiked out to large boulder overhanging a cliff and felt like we were standing on the top of the world.  When I looked up and saw my mom venturing out onto yet a higher precipice, with blue sky beyond, I said “I need a picture of this”.  My daughter Rachel, the theater teacher, said “I’ll get the camera from grandma” and headed for the ledge.  She circled around behind a rock in order to follow her grandmother’s path and stopped in her tracks.  From behind that rock, in the pristine quiet of the windswept peak, came the cry “Holy Crap Grandma!” as she gazed on the precarious path my mom had traversed to reach her perch.  When we get the pictures, that line will be the caption: Holy Crap Grandma! (digital image inserted below)

Holy Crap Grandma!
We ended with dinner at Pinnacle Peak restaurant and watched the wild-west stunt show. What a great day it was.

Today I will attend my first Baha’i community event here in Tucson – an Ayyam-i-ha Picnic.  I will take a guitar along and perform.  I haven’t been able to do that for weeks.  I miss my recording work too.  But in time, I will have it all put together and back “on track” – so to speak.

///Darrell
Darrell Rodgers                                             
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Baha'i Events, Music Performance, Music Recording and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Incredible Mom

  1. Robin Tatina says:

    Hi Darrell,
    Our mother is a supermom! Back here in the east we call her “the White Tornado”. She spends time at our brother’s and at my house one day every couple weeks cleaning everything! She went to Egypt and rode a camel at age 72, went parasailing at 76 and has taught all of her grandchildren to rollerskate! And look at that picture…She ROCKS!!
    Love Ya,
    Sista

  2. Laura says:

    Hi Darrell,
    What a beautiful entry and what an amazing mom! Thanks so much for sharing. She is an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

