Taylor Guitars – a stronghold of Customer service

You’ve heard me rant about the decline of competence and Customer Service in America.  Well, I’m pleased to report that it is alive and well at Taylor Guitars.

Just before I moved to Tucson from Imperial Beach, I took my Taylor Guitar over their factory in El Cajon, CA (about 20 miles from where I then lived) to have the “Expression System” – the internal pick-ups and pre-amp – fixed.  The pots had begun making horrendous noise when I tried to make any adjustment.  It was the Expression System that moved me to buy the Taylor in the first place.  I needed a good guitar and a way to record a decent acoustic sound without relying on microphones (too much ambient noise at the beach!) 

“JR”, the lead guitar tech there at the factory said he would try to complete the work before I moved but would ship it to me for free if it took too long. He explained how they carefully crated each guitar they shipped. I thought, that’s attention to detail by a man who knows his job! But on the following Wednesday, two days before the move, JR called me to say it was ready for pick-up. Fantastic!  As usual, not only had he repaired my beautiful “Limited Edition” 710CE, he put on a brand new set of strings (Elixir) and polished the guitar.  And now the best part – when I asked what had been replaced he said “well, since you had one of the early versions of the Expression System, we decided just to replace the entire electronics package and upgraded you to the latest version”.  Wow.  Now, get this: Price tag: $0, zero, nada, zip.  All covered under warranty.  Friends THAT’s customer service!

Last night I played (at El Ojito Springs in Tucson) through a PA for the first time since moving.  What a joy it was to be able to adjust my tone and volume without any pops or cracking.  And of course, the guitar sounded sweeeet.  After all, it’s a Taylor!

///Darrell
Darrell Rodgers                                             
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation, Guitars, Music Performance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taylor Guitars – a stronghold of Customer service

  1. Ryan A says:

    I have stumbled upon your blog on the web and I have to say I’ve enjoyed reading your posts. I am also glad to hear you had a great experience with the Taylor Guitars customer service. … Keep up the great blogging!

Leave a Reply

