Happy Father’s Day – 2008

HAPPY FATHER’S DAY to all you Dads out there.
 
I often joke that Fathers are bankers provided by God.  Nonetheless there are special gifts that flow to me simply because I am one.
 
I’ve decided that the best gift children can give dad on Father’s Day is their own happiness.  Nothing makes this dad more content than seeing his kids happy, and living with that “attitude of gratitude”.

I have to thank my dear bride for a wonderfully lazy afternoon, with no chores assigned, and one of my favorite dinners at the end.  I spent my afternoon in the exact same way my dear ol’ Dad spent his Father’s Day afternoons – watching the last round of the US Open Golf Tournament (well, it was the last round when in started, but now there’s a playoff). 

My Dad was one of those guys who could watch TV with his eyes closed.  Just when you were sure he was asleep, and reached to change the channel, he’s say “hey, I’m WATCHING that”. 

My dad loved Golf.  He played every chance he got.  He loved the landscape (that he didn’t have to mow) and the camaraderie of his good golfing buddies.  When my younger brother took up the game, he and dad became regular partners on the course.  I never mastered the game.  Heck, I never even “novice’d” it!  But when dad died, my brother and mother gave me his clubs and got me started.  Like my dad, I love the landscape and the camaraderie.  I can’t stand however the frustration and sore aching muscles!!!  Even so, I still try, even though just watching the pros is so much easier.
 
I hope you had a great Father’s day.  Be sure to express your own joy and gratitude to whoever might be “Dad” in your life.

///Darrell
Darrell Rodgers                                             
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

