July Memorials

What a month.  The rains are making regular visits and grass is finally growing in my back yard. Of course, it’s also growing in places I don’t want it, so I guess I’m breaking even. 

I saw three friends pass to the next world this month.  One was my Aunt Grace Witherow in Clymer, Pennsylvania, who died suddenly in her home shortly after hip surgery that we thought would restore her activity level.  We didn’t imagine that a blot clot could bring her life to such a sudden stop.

Aunt Grace was wonderful to me. Remembering some childhood adventures with her kids, my cousins Johnny, Terry, and Cindy, I now think that although I lived in the Washington DC area, I would not have seen it except for Aunt Grace’s visits.  She was the motivation for so many of our “sight seeing” excursions.  And she seemed protective of me whenever I visited them in Clymer.  It was a bit painful to not make the trip back for her funeral, but it’s a long way from Tucson and duty called.

Shortly after hearing of my Aunt’s passing, we got word that Bob Miessler had passed away at the age of 80 in Brazil where he had lived for many years (about 60) as a Baha’i “pioneer”.  He was called “Uncle Bob” by a number of the Baha’is and his travel stories were always entertaining and inspiring.  When he visited us in California last year, we took him all over San Diego and he spent all of his time handing out pamphlets and telling people about the Baha’i Faith.  He had a ball.  Now he’s reunited in the next world with his beloved wife Myriam.

And almost simultaneously, and closer to home, Britt King passed away after a long illness. She was friend, partner, and business manager to my dear friend Alan James.  Alan sent a marvelous email with lyrics he wrote for her (his second song for Britt).  I’ve asked his permission to share it with you:

Darrell & Deb:
After some final months of battling with her failing heart, and a week of shockingly fast decline, Britt hung in there breathing for a couple days beyond what anybody could. I think it was so she do the takeoff with a final touch of her style, a little before 5 AM, on–

Can you guess?–

Independence Day.

Love,
Alan

Britt’s Song #2
© Alan James 2008
I wrote you a song when I first met you
A keeper just like you, that people love
I wish I’d sung it to you far more often–
I guess it never could have been enough.

Lookin’ back on days of love and laughter
Arguments and tears—what can I say
It’s easier than facin’ toward a future
Without you to come home to every day

It’s time for you to fly, and it’s time for us to cry
And say those things that never fill the hole
That your leaving leaves behind in our hearts and in our lives
But that’s the way love is—I guess you know
How hard it is for us to let you go.

There’s potatoes to be dug up in the garden
Tomatoes and the squash are comin’ on
I’ve been out pullin’ weeds that I can hardly see
We won’t need half as much now with you gone

A pillow and some pain meds in a dropper
Some words you said too faint for me to know
I’m doin’ what I can to help you leave me
And it’s twistin’ like a knife in20my poor soul

It’s time for you to fly, and it’s time for me to cry
And sing the songs that never fill the hole
That your leaving leaves behind in our house, my heart, my life
But that’s the way love is—I guess you know
How hard it is for me to let you go.

It’s time for you to fly, and don’t worry if I cry
It helps to wash this pain out of my soul
The spreading of your wings gave us this song to sing
And that’s how love is too—I hope you know
Somehow you made it right for you to go.
The spreading of your wings gave us this song to sing
And that’s how love is too—I guess you know
Somehow you made it right for you to go..

Man, that’s a song.  And on Sunday, July 20th, Alan hosted a Musical Memorial for Britt at the Del Dios Fire Hall.  I was lucky to be able to attend.  It was an incredible event with some of the sweetest music offered up from deep in hearts full of love by San Diego area musicians including Greg Douglass, John Katchur, David Beldock, David Sherry, CeCe Taylor, Darryl Cifarelli, and Fred Schmitt – Just to name a few.

It was an incredible concert, and the jamming afterward was out of this world.  I know Britt is grinning somewhere.

///Darrell
Darrell Rodgers                                             
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation, Music Performance, songwriter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

