Drying Out

Well, Labor Day seems to be a point of demarcation for the summer here in Tucson.  The rains are beginning to subside and the humidity is reduced from its monsoon season highs.  It’s beginning to feel like the desert again.  (Funny, I never thought of that as a good thing until now)

I’ve been working to re-build my little studio set-up and I’ve gotten enough of it set up to resume work on my CD “Each One Teach One – Songs for the Army of Light”.  It’s a collection of overtly Bahá’í-oriented teaching songs that I’ve written and performed over the past 35 years.  I’d like to get it done before the 6th annual Music Industry Weekend at Bosch Bahá’í School (October 30 – Nov 2) but it will be difficult. 

And I can’t seem to resist the temptation to work on my “secular” stuff too and that slows down my progress on “E1T1”.  I’ve written a new tune called “Tucson to Tehran” (a pro-veteran, anti-war protest of sorts).  I play it on slide guitar in an open G tuning.  That’s fun.  I’ve been playing open tuning slide a lot lately.  I used some sloppy slide to embellish a “draft” recording of my new tune “Sex as a Weapon” (the one I wrote in the moving truck).  It turned out surprisingly well, but not good enough for public consumption.  I’ll have to discipline myself into NOT working on it so I can get the Bahá’í CD finished.

Dale Ramsdell

Speaking of Bahá’í CDs, our friend Dale Ramsdell sent me an advance copy of his “Spiritual Springtime” CD.  It’s pure Dale.  We’ll probably hear some of these tunes played at the Bahá’í music weekend this fall.  Congratulations Dale on “gettin’ er done”! 

Steve Decker

Last night I attended my first meeting of the Tucson Kitchen Musicians Association (TKMA).  It’s called that because it started in a Kitchen over 20 years ago.  But boy, has it come a long way.  Or has it?  They now meet in a bar!  Seriously folks, these people have done a great service to the City of Tucson and all of Southern Arizona.  Each year they present the Annual Tucson Folk Festival (see my earlier post) and that is a highly professional event.  I don’t yet know how much time I will be able to devote, but I will put in some service hours to this fine organization.  Among the friendly faces I met there last night were folks I had seen perform or serve at the Festival and a fellow songwriter named Steve Decker  whom I had met at the songwriting workshop.  Steve made the mistake of offering up a good motion and the next thing you know, he was appointed pro-tem Vice President (filling a vacancy).  I believe they updated the website with his name before we even got home.

///Darrell
Darrell Rodgers                                             
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Baha'i Events, Events, General Conversation, Music, Music Performance, Music Recording, songwriter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

