Thanksgiving 2008

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday.  It’s simply a perfect commemoration in my opinion.  We’re thanking God for all the blessings in our lives and we’re doing it together with family and friends, with traditional American foods, and lots of laughter.  At least, that’s what Thanksgiving has always been for me in the past.  I hope your Thanksgiving was a great one!

This year, I sacrificed my Thanksgiving to serve as entertainment to the annual Thanksgiving Dinner at Desert Rose Baha’i Institute in Eloy, AZ.  There weren’t nearly as many people there this year as I have seen in the past.  Perhaps it was the rain that made those dirt roads slick as snot on a porcelain doorknob.  My car is a mess.  It now looks “Adobe”.  I hope the folks that came and stayed for my part of the show enjoyed it at least as much as the “opening act”.  For those of you that have never seen a geriatric belly-dance review (I kid you not), well you just missed it…

Hey!  I just received the approval of the “Review Office” at our Baha’i National Center for the new CD “Each One Teach One – Songs for the Army of Light”.  That means I got the quotation correct on “Shores of Paradise” and haven’t violated anyone’s sense of dignity I suppose.  But, this takes a way a cool marketing ploy. I was considering hawking this CD as “unauthorized Baha’i music” as a humorous way of appealing to the rebellious side of our nature.  Oh well, now I’m just another selection in the growing list of Baha’i-oriented music being reviewed for dignity and accuracy by our national administration.  Now I need to get hooked up with an MP3 download site (likely CD baby) and start promoting it to the Baha’i Community.

I’ll be at the Colorado Springs Baha’i Center this Sunday.  That is, if snow storms or other weather and airline phenomena don’t prevent me.

///Darrell

Darrell Rodgers                                             
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Baha'i Events, General Conversation, Music, Music BUSINESS, Music Performance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

