Auditions for the Tucson Folk Music Festival

My friend Rick Heyman is a fantastic musician.  I just had the pleasure of recording his Bass accompaniment to three of my songs we will submit to the selection committee for the annual Tucson Folk Music Festival.  Rick and his wife Holly moved to Tucson only recently from the frozen northeast.  It is fortuitous that our paths crossed at the Tucson Baha’i Center.  He was playing electric bass for “In The Spirit”, a local Baha’i gospel group.  When he first mentioned that he was purchasing an acoustic upright bass, the wheels started turning in my head about the Folk Festival.  An upright bass always makes a strong impression on a folk-music crowd!  So I suggested that we team up and enter the Festival as a duo.  elmerrodgersrickheyman

It looks now like that was a GREAT idea.  I’m so very pleased with the sound of our demo that now I must have Rick play bass for my new album.  If you are in Tucson this coming May 2nd and 3rd, be sure to attend the festival.  Last year was such fun I wouldn’t want to miss it this year even if I don’t get selected.  My bride says “don’t worry about that, you’ll get on stage”.  I hope she’s right.  This demo turned out very well for such a quick project.  It includes my latest “war protest” song – Tucson to Tehran – on which I play slide guitar. 

By the way, I plan to enter the songwriter’s contest this year as well, so pray for my success.  That would be a nice accolade to add to my resume’.  Now, I just have to decide which of my songs to submit.  There are dozens.

///Darrell
Darrell Rodgers                                             
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Events, Folk, General Conversation, Music Performance, Music Recording, songwriter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

