Catching Up

It’s been a while since I’ve posted , but I’ve been busy.  Deb and I are about to move to a much larger house in Casa Grande, AZ  (yes, a large house in “Large House”).  The place has been empty for well over a year and a half, except for spiders, dust, and one break-in that left some damage.  So for the past few weekends, I’ve been cleaning, fixing and painting.  We’ve set a moving date of next Friday, and there’s still much to do.  But I think we’ll be far enough along to live in the place as we tackle the remaining items on the growing “to-do” list. 

P1010222

The cool part for me is that I will have a “studio”!!    No more rearranging furniture in order to have room to record.   And I can leave things “set-up” over night.  And, perhaps best of all, an upright bass (and its player) will fit in the room quite easily along with me and the equipment!  Cool!  (do you hear me Rick Heyman?)

Of course, the move is not the only chore that will preceed setting up my studio.  I have the old house to clean and paint and rent-out (or sell).  But eventually, sometime this summer, I will be able to get back to recording more of my songs.  “Plain & Simple” has only half of the secular tunes I’ve written and “Each One Teach One” doesn’t contain all the Baha’i-oriented material either.  Additionally, I have some new song ideas that have been itching to get out.  So there’s much more music to record.RocketTheWonderDog

Meanwhile, we continue to shuttle back and forth between Casa Grande and Tucson, spending most of our weekends working on the new place.  And Rocket, the wonder-dog, comes along for the ride. (check out the way his eyes reflect turquoie light in the photo) 

Unfortunately, we learned something distressing about Rocket last night.  We made the mistake of leaving him in the house for two hours while we attended to other things.  When we returned we discivered the rascal had panicked and ripped apart the window blinds beside the front door in an attempt to get out I suppose.  I guess he doesn’t yet regard the new place as “his” yet. 

 

 

///Darrell 
 
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in dogs, General Conversation, Music, Music Recording, songwriter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

