Murphy and Monsoon Season

My posts here have been slow, I know.  But a couple things have been occupying my time, and it’s not about to let-up anytime soon.

As anticipated, our friend Noshene moved into our old house in Tucson a couple weeks ago as our very first tenant.  It was great to have some rental income so quickly and Noshene appreciated having a familiar house to move into.  As I mentioned last time, she had sold all of her furniture back in Boston so she’s busy surfing craig’s List for deals.  I must say, she has already found some great ones.

But, almost as sure as Murphy was an optimist, something had to happen to spoil the smoothness of the transition.  After seven uneventful monsoon seasons, without a single leak in that house, last Thursday night (July 2nd) I got a call from Noshene about 10 PM.  “The ceiling is leaking in the living room!” 

Tucson’s first strong monsoon rain storm had left its mark.  After having our friend and handy-man Brian take a quick look, I drove down on Sunday to see the branch on the roof for myself.  That’s when I discovered it was not only ON the roof, it was IN the roof!  BranchOnRoofThe tip of a tall Eucalyptus tree, far across the street, had lost about 6-feet of the end of a branch.  The wind had apparently snapped the 2-inch diameter branch and set it flying like a huge lawn dart across the road and down into my roof.  I could see how, after impaling the roof, it must have flopped over, thereby prying up the plywood sheathing under the punctured shingles.  I removed it and revealed a hole about 5 inches long and 2 inches wide.  I found some spare shingles I had left in the storage room, and some roofing nails, and covered the hole temporarily.  The roof repair estimates start coming in tomorrow.  The Insurance agent is standing by (hoping it doesn’t exceed my deductible).

HoleMeanwhile, here in Casa Grande, the rain did what I expected and turned my back yard into a mud pit.  Rocket, our dog, looked like he was wearing brown moon-boots as he returned from the yard.  Now I can really appreciate the tile floors.  I will likely get around to spreading crushed stone after the rains have ended, but hey, better late than never.

My studio?  It’s still a mess.  Other organization has taken priority.  Soon, I keep telling myself, soon. 

 ///Darrell 

 Darrell Elmer Rodgers                                
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

