Mission Accomplished

Well, I got back home on Monday night after spending four glorious days at Bosch Baha’i School in Santa Cruz, CA.  Bosch is a georgeous place about 7 miles or so from the coast north of the city.  And this year, the weather was perfect.

P1020352Each year I coordinate the activities for the Annual Music Industry Weekend at Bosch Baha’i School.  It is a labor of love.  This year it seemed to pay dividends as this group of musicians, though fewer in number than past years,  included many new faces and some very talented ones at that. Meeting them was a sheer delight.  I wrote a full report for the Music Industry Weekend website.  Please have a look.

What I want to write about here, was the Birthday surprise I received on Saturday (one day early).  My dear bride Deb enlisted the help of a friend, and delightful singer Kyra Platte, to get folks to sign a birthday card. Some of their comments are a hoot.   And then she conferred with Bosch’s Chef, Jamshid Kiana, who baked the bigest birthday cake I’ve every been presented.  It was as big as a truck tire.  Of course, he thought he would trick me with one of those candles that re-light themselves, but I saw the sparking and applied wet fingers to quench the flame.  But man, what a cake.  After feeding EVERYONE, there was still a good portion left over to enjoy with coffee.

SongwritersRoundtable4I also wanted to comment about songwriting.  For the past 3 years, Alan James and I have hosted a “songwriter’s round table”  where we share our views on songwriting and also some tricks for breaking writing block, etc.  This year, several of our participants launched into songwriting during the weekend and that to me was very gratifying.

We’ve set a schedule for next year, tentatively reserving October 21-24 for our annual gathering.  We also are arranging for an optional “early arrival” Wednesday night for those who want to jam all day Thursday.  I’m looking forward to that.

Right now, I’m tired.  And I’m happy to be home for a while. I plan to take some time in December to do nothing but write new songs.  I have a collection of ideas and starting lines.  It’s time to develop some new material.

 
///Darrell
 
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Baha'i Events, General Conversation, Music BUSINESS, Music Performance, Music Recording, songwriter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

