Grandma Katy has arrived!

Grandma Katy – that’s what my kids call my mom. And she arrived here on the 3rd of January with my niece Amy.  Amy had asked for only one Christmas present – a trip to Arizona to visit her cousins. Well, she got it and spent three days cruising around phoenix with my daughters.  Mom, on the other hand, did what she prefers – reading books and cleaning house. Yes, my mother enjoys cleaning, and quickly set about the task of dusting this dusty desert house. 

Of course, it’s not all work.  We’ve been out to eat and mom and Deb have toured the area. On Thursday, they took all three girls down to “Rooster Cogburn’s Ostrich Ranch” at Picacho Peak to see and feed ostriches, burros, goats, and God knows what else.  It’s basically a petting zoo of ugly animals. (not my cup of tea)

Deb and mom went also to a local Olive orchard/ olive-product factory/ store/ tourist attraction and came back with several varieties of olive oil and other things olive. But to mitigate my pain, they also visited a local hog farm /butcher shop/ pork-eater’s mecca (boy is that an oxymoron) and brought back some really fine chops and sausages! Deb even grilled them for us on Saturday and we had an incredible feast.

So this has been a great week for me.  I not only got to see my mom, but my daughters and my neice as well.  My vegetarian bride grilled pork chops and sausages for an extrodinary family dinner with mom, daughter and son-in-law.   And being a work-week, I had a valid excuse for not going to pet the ugly animals.

 
///Darrell
 
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

