” Die Workin’ ” at The Glass Onion

Last night, Friday the 13th, I accepted an invitation from Jen McDonald, proprietor of The Glass Onion Cafe in Tucson to be part of their “Talent Search” night.  She had met a fellow she said was a talent scout for “Sony/Warner” and he would be there to see the local talent perform. I thought it would likely be a waste of time since it takes me 45 minutes to get there and it wasn’t likely to be a long set – 2 or 3 songs, I figured.  I was also sure the place would be crowded with teen-age high school rock bands want to “crank it up to 11” in an “every man for himself” attempt to “get discovered”.

But I went anyway.

Doug Hancock

Much to my delight, my fears were mostly unfounded. I was pleased to see some other gray-haired performers in the place and made a new acquaintance I hope to see again soon.  His name is Doug Hancock. He’s a veteran preforming singer-songwriter with an old bus to prove it. (Doug says he actually raised kids in that bus)  Today, Doug has a home in Tucson where he runs “Hancock Recording” and parks his bus. His website says he does mastering.  Doug and I might just have to talk about that! I’d also like to get him involved with TKMA because I think he’d enjoy the people.

For my part, I used the opportunity to debut, before a live audience, several new songs including ” Die Workin’ ” which I play on slide guitar and harmonica simultaneously.  As I said to the audience, for a singer-songwriter, playing both guitar and harmonica while singing is akin to rubbing your tummy and patting your head at the same time,,,while doing brain surgery and changing a tire on your car. It’s a bit complex.

But much to my surprise, I pulled it off. Here’s a photo of me in action.  I will soon produce a music web log of the song which I believe mighty just become an anthem for my generation or perhaps, the Occupy movement.

Yes it’s just the dream destroyed, for any Workin’ Man
It’s the long-term, under-employed, retirement plan:
Die Workin’, Die Workin’ Die Workin’
(If I’m lucky, I’ll Die Workin’)

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation, Guitars, Music, Music Performance, Music Recording, songwriter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ” Die Workin’ ” at The Glass Onion

  1. robin tatina says:

    You’re such a talented songster! Love your music!
    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

