Lean On Me – my slide guitar version

In 1972, 40 years ago (whew!), Bill Withers had his first big hit with “Lean On Me”.  I love that song.  It’s simple, but powerful.  And Bill Withers delivered it with a soulful quality that blended style elements of gospel, jazz, and blues.

I had often thought that the blues element  of the song called for a slide guitar rendition. I searched YouTube for examples of folks covering this song with slide guitar. Guess what! Not one could I find!  No one it seems has ever felt moved, as I was, to do this song with slide.

This demanded action! I got out my Dean Resonator guitar, tuned it to an open C, and began to play. The piece flowed out rather easily.

So with my “wonder dog”, Rocket, listening intently (I’m sure), I turned on the cameras and the recording equipment and took a shot.

I hope you enjoyed that.  As my friend Robin Stone says, this is “a classic song with timeless lyrics”.

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in blues, dogs, General Conversation, Guitars, Music, Music Performance, Music Recording, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

