Be On Fire! – new Music Video

“The Master”, Abdu’l-Baha

Well, as promised, here’s a video for one of my new songs called “Be On Fire”

Be On Fire!  is about how Abdu’l-Baha inspired some of my personal heroes in the Baha’i Faith. The “Master” as Baha’is call him, visited this country 100 years ago and I wrote this song to perform at the commemoration in San Diego, CA.
I enjoyed writing it and love playing it. I hope you love it too.

When I was a lad of about 20 years old, my friend Ric and I visited Dr. Stanwood Cobb at his home in Chevy Chase, MD, just on the border of Washington DC.  I was about to go to Iceland and wanted to talk with him before I left. I still have a couple letters he sent me while I was overseas.

Stanwood Cobb lived to 101

Dr. Cobb was one of our nation’s earliest Baha’is and had met with the Master on 5 separate occasions. We had a most enjoyable evening with him and as we were leaving, Dr. Cobb shook my hand with a very strong grip (particularly impressive for a man of 92 years). He looked me in the eye and said “This is the hand that shook the hand of Abdu’l-Baha and He said Be On Fire with the Love of God!, Be On Fire with the Love of God!, Be On Fire with the Love of God!”

Well, let me tell you, my knees almost buckled from the power of that command! But I never forgot it. I learned that the Master said much the same thing to many spiritual seekers across America, often repeating the “punch line” three times with vigor, just as Dr. Cobb has done to me.  So that’s the inspiration for this song.

So tell me, Did you sing along?

My thanks to the Baha’i International Community media library for the historic photos and to Stanwood for his.
///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Baha'i Events, Folk, General Conversation, Guitars, Music Performance, songwriter, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Be On Fire! – new Music Video

  1. Walter Heath says:

    Another BIG winner, Darrell. Very well done in every way.

  2. oakritchie says:

    I’ll say, this is a totally different genre than I grew up being exposed to, and I loved it. Keep spreading your light, and sharing stories like the one with Mr. Cobb!

    • Darrell says:

      I’m glad you liked it Oak! Being a “different genre” has been problematic for my popularity, but satisfying to my own spirit. Here’s an additional piece of the story: The night I visited Stanwood Cobb, Charles Mason Remey had just died in Italy. To Dr. Cobb’s surprise, I didn’t know who Remey was. Dr. Cobb told the story of Remey’s covenant-breaking and pulled out the obituary clipped from an Italian Newspaper. Dr. Cobb chuckled saying Remey “got only one column inch, and they spelled his name wrong”. Then Dr. Cobb said “he lived to 100. If there’s anything I’d like to do, I want to out-live Mason Remey!” As we know, Dr. Cobb lived to 101.

  3. Camán says:

    Well done buddy.
    Especially love the chorus.

Leave a Reply

