Some Roads Converge

Ella BengtsonRobert Frost wrote “two roads diverged in a yellow wood…”
But sometimes, roads converge – even after a great distance.

We just spent a lovely evening having dinner with the entire Bengtson family out in Gold Canyon, AZ – about an hour drive from Casa Grande. I first met the Bengtsons when they moved into a new house built just across the street from my home in Virginia when I was about 12 years old. Their daughter Brenda was my sister’s age and John was my brother’s age.  Later, when Andrew was born, he’d spend almost as much time at our house as he did his own and as a teenager, baby-sat my oldest daughter.   Our families shared Christmas together for years when I was growing up and continued to do so “back home”, after I left.

Now Paul and Joyce have retired to AZ and I get to rekindle fond memories by visiting their home once again. Thanks for inviting us to Christmas dinner Paul, Joyce, Brenda & Jessie, John, Andrew & Jeanie and little Ella. It was a sweet taste of “home”.

 

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

