Enjoyable evening in Rancho Cucamonga

I had a great time performing at the Baha’i Center in Rancho Cucamonga, California, Friday evening. There’s nothing better for a singer-songwriter than an attentive audience who enjoys the show.

Herb Moran

Herb Moran

My dear friends Herb and Elaine Moran (that’s Elaine behind Herb on the left side of the photo) set up the event when I told them I would be “passing through” their area. (One of Deb’s “tune up” visits to our Extraordinary Chiropractor Dr. Charles Hough in Santa Ana, CA.)  I’m so glad I called them.

I’ve known Herb and Elaine for a long time. We used to live near each other in the San Diego area. When I married Deb, I was wearing Herb’s tux. (Now neither one of us can fit into it – HA!).

P1060567

The Baha’i Center there is small, but the room felt packed by the 25 or so people who came to the event. It wasn’t just me performing but also included my bride Deb delivering some quotations on the “Goodly Gifts” of Love, Justice, and Unity.

We will look forward to doing it again sometime.

IMG_0319One more anecdote from our trip: We stayed at the Ontario Airport Comfort Suites – perhaps the BEST Comfort Suites I have stayed in (sorry Das). I’m a “Choice Rewards” member and have stayed at many hotels in the Choice chain.  In their zeal to impress us with customer service, they left a welcome message on the mirror in my room.  After dropping our bags in the room, I went back down to the front desk. “That’s A First” I said to the hotel desk clerk. “I’ve never found a welcome note on my mirror before”.  She smiled and asked “Did you Like It?” “Well”, I said, “it was nice, but you wrote my name in red, and that looks like lipstick, and now my wife thinks I’ve been here before!” (I’m giving it a 4.0 in initiative and a 2.5 in judgement). hahahahahaha!!!

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Baha'i Events, General Conversation, Music, Music Performance, songwriter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

