Album Work progressing!

I’m feeling accomplished.  I have about finished recording 10 songs for my next album which will be called “Woodstock Generation” for a song I wrote in 1979 (10 years after the big event) and have just re-recorded after adding a new bridge with additional lyrics. It’s a long song, but still worth putting out there.

“Woodstock Generation, tell me where are you today?
        Will you save this nation or just let it die away? Don’t let it die away!”

The new album contains “social commentary” songs, old and new, including another Post-Woodstock song I wrote back in the day called “What’s Goin’ On”.  That track features a Tenor sax solo (and background sax section) by yours truly.

I started playing sax in the early 60’s when I was eleven years old. I played it in our old Rock Band “Wasatch Front” in the late 70’s but fell away from it afterward.  Recently, having had my Alto sax returned by my daughter, I bought a used Tenor and just had to try this. It took days to sufficiently rebuild my skills and my “embouchure” (my lips and mouth muscles) enough to pull this off, but I think I did.

I’m working with my sister Robin Tatina, an accomplished artist, to develop the cover art. I already have cover art for the following album which will be titled “Complicated Man” and include both old and recent “relationship songs”. That album’s artwork is provided by my uncle, Dale Witherow.  You should check out his work at  http://www.witherowgallery.com/

I think you’ll like both of these forthcoming albums.

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation, Music, Music Recording, songwriter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

