New Song about the Song Industry

I just made a rough home recording of a new song.  It started with a conversation between me and singer-songwriter Lani Nash about a year ago. Lani has been writing and singing songs around Nashville for some time and agreed with me when I said that it seemed every song out of Nashville these days was about drinking. Lani said yes, it seems that if you want to get attention in Nashville, you’d better write about Beer or Jesus.

Well that in itself sounded like a song title to me: “Beer or Jesus” – a new hit song from the folks who brought you “Drunk on a Plane”, “Pretty Good At Drinkin’ Beer”, “Beer Money” and other uplifting tunes! (you get my point)

My friend Alan James, another singer-songwriter, once pointed out that when we play in bars we are just the “Loss Leader” for beer sales. We’re the product a bar owner is willing to lose money on in order to sell more beer.

Then, just a few months ago, I was flipping cable channels and found a Nashville songwriter’s showcase hosted by Luke Bryan. There were 4 or 5 other songwriters there and one by one, they each played their “hit” song. Guess what.  EVERY SONG was about drinking! Maybe the CMA is just a marketing division of Anheuser-Busch.

So, I had to do it. I had to write the song. it’s called “Nashville Hit Song Illuminati” and you can hear it on my ReverbNation page here:  http://www.reverbnation.com/darrellelmerrodgers/song/23640479-nashville-hit-song-illuminati-rough

After hearing this tune,  my brother-in-law, Scott Tatina, shared this photo:SweetBabyJesusBeer

I guess that about wraps it up.

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation, Music, Music BUSINESS, Music Recording, songwriter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

