Friends and Craftsmen

IMAG0226Recently enjoyed an evening of original IMAG0227songs by friends Jim Pipkin and Eric Laubach. They played sets in rotation for quite some time at Cup-O-Karma cafe in Mesa, AZ. where all the proceeds go to support women’s shelters in the Phoenix area. We drove up to listen as long as we thought our dogs could bear.  It was great fun. I want to tip my hat to Brian Abernethy who played the Bodhran (a Celtic drum). He cracked me up when he said “I play in two keys: Thump and Whack”.

IMAG0235Next Tip-O-the-Hat goes to Rainbow Guitars in Tucson (2550 N. Campbell Ave), specifically to Josh Rondstadt who did a wonderful job returning the neck and fret board of my beloved Taylor guitar to pristine condition (and repaired the electronics too). I first called Taylor Guitars in California to find my nearest authorized repair shop and they recommended Josh, who had once worked at the Taylor factory and was now with Rainbow.  Of course, I asked Josh if he was related to the Rondstadt family, famous in Tucson for their musical contributions to the city and the world, and he said YES! Turns out Josh’s dad is my friend Bobby Rondstadt.

Josh, I want to thank you for doing such a superb job repairing and  resetting my Taylor Guitar. You are a true craftsman!

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Folk, Guitars, Music, Music Performance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

