Video production – back to work

I have not even attempted to produce a video in over a year. Why? Too hard to do right. At least it seemed so after my iMac quit working right and my Panasonic video camera died completely. All I had left was a cheap digital camera and a cel-phone.

Well, I’ve managed to get the old iMac back to semi-useful. I simply had to move a bunch of old recordings and movies to my external hard drive and the new iMovie software began to work as advertised – almost (it’s still slow).

So to test the waters and re-learn what I used to know, I decided to make a simple 0ne- camera video of me playing my satirical “Nashville Hit Song Illuminati” (see earlier blog post).  This time I decided it should be a bit faster pace so I sped up the midi backing tracks I had made for the first rough recording and recorded a “live” performance using just the iMac internal camera. It almost worked.

I had a little trouble with the guitar level, so I re-recorded that track by itself and it almost matches what I actually played the first time. If I had known it would come so close to being useful, I might have set up my cel-phone for a second camera angle (I use a straight mic stand as a camera tripod).  There’s no award for creativity here but at least I’m getting back in the game.

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Folk, General Conversation, Guitars, Music, Music BUSINESS, Music Performance, Music Recording, songwriter, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

