Happy Birthdays

Dad-PinkyRodgersToday would be my father’s 90th birthday. I suppose I could say today IS the 90th anniversary of my dad’s birthday.  Had he survived that aortic aneurysm back at age 63, would he have lived this long?  Perhaps. His wife Katy, my mom, turns 90 a month from today. And she’s going strong.

Dad loved to sing. I just remembered that, ironically, he liked singing the Beatles “When I’m 64”.  He didn’t quite make it far enough to find out, but I know he would still be needed and fed even at 90.

There are other birthdays to acknowledge, but I won’t dwell on any except two. The first is my own, which happens Sunday. I was born on a Sunday at 9:30 AM EST. It was, I think, the only time my dad willingly missed church for anything other than hunting season. I guess that means I should pass the official milepost this Sunday at 7:30 AM MST (Arizona Time).  The second birthday, which hasn’t yet happened even once yet, but might well precede or overlap mine, is Katy’s. No, not my mom, but her second GREAT Grandchild who is due to join us at any moment and will bear the name. I couldn’t be happier about that!

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Events, General Conversation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

