Busy November – Happy Thanksgiving!

November is almost gone. Thanksgiving, my favorite holiday, is but 2 days away.

Happy Thanksgiving everybody!

I like Thanksgiving because of my own life experiences with it.  Yes, I know it marks a devastating milestone in history for my Native American friends. But the sacrifice of their ancestors gave the world an opportunity to grow and change and for that I consider those souls martyrs to the cause of Unity.  I just wish European invaders had listened and learned from them instead of engaging in hostilities. But such maturity was not there.

Ermagerd! Terkie! -Emily

Ermagerd! Terkie! -Emily (2012)

In my young life, Thanksgiving was all about family and friends. People who you knew would love you even if you angered them from time to time (and I had a knack for that). And of course, it focused on food – food prepared by loving hands and enjoyed by all, together.  Yes, my childhood was a great one. And throughout my adult life I have wanted to infuse Thanksgiving gatherings with a similar feeling. It hasn’t always been perfect, but it has come close.

This year I plan to again enjoy dinner with old friends down in Tucson. We all lived in the same Virginia neighborhood those many years ago. Our collective grown kids probably won’t feel the same connection as we aging parents do, but that’s OK.  In future years they will find their own connections to old and dear friends too.

Katie with big sister Emily

Katie with big sister Emily

One spectacular aspect of this November actually happened in the final days of October. We welcomed to the world our second Grandchild, Katie.  Katie of course is a gem (even though she and her big sister Emily (4 years old) are quickly depleting mommy’s energy).  She’s named for my mother Katy Rodgers who just this past Saturday turned 90 years old.  My mother is a wonderful human being and needs your prayers for healing. She has since retiring at age 76, worked as volunteer with the Loudoun Hospital Ladies Board (Leesburg, Va), which  raises funds by operating a thrift store (“Twice Is Nice”) and conducting an annual “Rummage Sale” (an event that draws thousands of buyers). MyMom-closeup This year, her exertions exceeded her bones and she has suffered two stress fractures in her back. The uncomfortable brace and forced reduction in mobility are burdens as big as the pain. My saintly sister and her husband have taken her to their home in Harper’s Ferry for convalescence, but it appears that returning to her 3-story town house is not going to happen. So it’s a time of dramatic transition from independence to assisted living. It breaks my heart, but I am grateful to still have her to talk to on the phone and know that she prays for me. Prayers are powered by love. The greater the love, the more powerful the prayer. Her prayers for me are as powerful as mine for her. Please add the power of your love through prayer that Katy can regain her mobility – painlessly.

I’ve been working on a new song called “End of the Line” (a ballad of Casa Grande, AZ). And I’m working on our upcoming Music Makers Weekend happening in December. I’ll be working on a “30-day songwriting challenge” song before that.  See our Music Makers Weekend site for details.

Until next time, be safe and have a loving and joyous Thanksgiving!

 

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

