End of the year, End of the Line

I just realized that I hadn’t posted anything since Thanksgiving. While that’s bad for blogging, it shows me I have been busy!

IMG_4964r1December kept me well occupied, starting with my continued planning for our annual Music Makers Weekend (formerly Music industry Weekend) that for the first time, we held in Arizona instead of California. I’m proud to say it came off wonderfully. We had about 16 participants including those who served as staff – all of whom were musicians. Even our chef Jim Rust is a singer-songwriter.

IMG_4881-cropI played at Monterrey Court in Tucson in early December as part of the Songwriter Showcase series that Ron Pandy has produced for two years now. It’s a fun thing to do because you get to hear and visit with several songwriter friends from around the area and the audiences there are always warm.

I’ve also written a couple new songs.  I just recorded one of them (with much help from my friend Jeff Bohnhoff – a music recording wizard!) and posted it on my ReverbNation page.  It’s called “End of the Line” and could be the Ballad of Casa Grande. It tells the origins of this desert farming town and laments my residency a bit.
Truth be told, I like this town. There’s a good city government and a bunch of fine people and I can get to either downtown Phoenix, or downtown Tucson in about an hour.

GrandDaughters12-11-15Of course, in between these events and songwriting, we spent some time with our granddaughters (oh, and their parents too). Our newest addition “Katie” is such a jewel, I can’t take my eyes off of her. Can you blame me?

Well, I probably won’t blog again until next year (which happens in three days) when my first granddaughter Emily turns four. She already knows ALL the Star Wars characters, so her mom is hosting a “Emily’s Fouth be with you” birthday party. That should be good.

So, I’ll sign off the “End of the Year” here at the “End of the Line” by wishing you all a happy and prosperous new year. Thanks for being part of mine.

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Baha'i Events, Folk, General Conversation, Music, Music BUSINESS, Music Performance, Music Recording, songwriter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to End of the year, End of the Line

  1. Denise Gardner Dunn says:

    Always enjoy your blogs!!!!

Leave a Reply

