Happy Anniversary? yes! after 10 years of non-stop joy

72TheCoupleTen years ago, May 27th, I married my Bride, Deb.  I like to say it was an “arranged” marriage.  I don’t think I could have been that smart or that lucky on my own. I really think someone “up there” put the two of us together. And I am eternally grateful.

I like to say that had I known the second marriage would be so good, I wouldn’t have kept the first one so dang long!

I also told her I planned to give her a 50-year honeymoon. Well, 10 down and 40 to go!

She appreciates me calling her my “Bride”, a choice I made day one. I had a wife once, and for a long time, and it wasn’t good.  So by calling her my “Bride”, I remind myself that this marriage is new and different. It also proclaims to her, that I’m still committed to that 50-year promise.

In my song “Real Love” (the first Valentine’s day song I gave my Bride), I wrote this lyric: “True Love’s not selfish. In fact, it’s sacrificial, always seeking something sweet to do. That’s how I know I never knew Real Love, until I fell in love with you.”  She really personifies that kind of Real Love for me.

They really have flown by, these first 10 years.  I guess that’s how it goes when it’s fun. Or as my friend Mike Lindsey says, “that’s the way it works, when it’s working”.

Tonight I’m miles away in New Mexico, but tomorrow, I’ll be home again. And home is anywhere she is. Happy Anniversary dear Bride!

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

