Dead on My Feet but still truckin’

This has been a tough month so far.  I just finished moving the last load of bulky items from our old home in Casa Grande, AZ to our new one in Las Cruces, NM.

That’s right, The darrellsongs Studio has moved again. After 7 years in Casa Grande (8 and a half in Arizona), I will now be based in Southern New Mexico.

Here’s the new digs:

reator-shot-frontzillow-3-of-30

Of course, it looks like a warehouse on the inside right now.  Boxes are stacked all over the place and the room designated for my studio space is jammed, awaiting me to re-assemble my recording bench and my desk.  But who has the time?  I’m driving back to AZ on the weekends to clean up the old mansion and get it ready to sell. I’m working 10-hour days to free up my Fridays for that task.

And, I should mention, this is significant downsizing for us.  AZ house: 3080 sq. ft. NM house: 1725 sq. ft.  That’s about a 44% reduction in space, and I haven’t made near that reduction in “stuff”.  So I’ve rented storage space as well.  Figuring out what to store, is a big task in itself.

And on top of this pandemonium, I’m pressing forward with Music Makers Weekend at Desert Rose Baha’i institute this December 16-18.  If I get enough registrations to break even by November 15th, we’ll move ahead. If not, it will be “refund the money time” and we’ll cut our losses.

As a songwriter, I’m very frustrated. I keep getting cool song ideas but can’t take the time out to work them into something good. How about a cowboy song that came to me while driving in a rain storm through Texas Canyon just East of Benson, AZ:

As the rain swept up the canyon from the valley down below,
I knew I’d have to shelter, no further could I go.
It reminded me of stories that my ol’ grand daddy told.
When it rains in Texas Canyon, all you get is wet and cold.

Maybe I’ll remember enough of them once this is finished, to really crank out some new gems. I sure hope so. I need the therapy!

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Baha'i Events, Events, General Conversation, songwriter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dead on My Feet but still truckin’

  1. Alice Nelson says:

    Great start to the blog. Jim and I have talked about down sizing. the property is getting a bit much for us sometimes to keep up. Glad you are well and getting settled. LOVE the new song idea.

Leave a Reply

