Rehearsal-Reunion in Tucson

Katie got the Box (Emily got a guitar)

This past weekend, I made a trip to AZ along with my bride. We visited our Grand Daughters (and their parents of course), I played a show in Scottsdale with a number of friends (including the great Jim Pipkin), and reunited with my Trio-mates for a rehearsal of some newer songs they had never played with me.

I must say, even though it’s been quite a while since we last played together, within 2 hours, we back in the groove!  Michael Parker hadn’t even played his drums much in the past year, but he hasn’t lost a step. And it had been 2 years since we performed with Rick Heyman our bassist.  He missed last year’s Folk Festival to attend his brother’s wedding. (Thank God for Phil Anderson who filled in superbly!)

I shouldn’t be surprised. This will be our ninth year at the Tucson Folk Festival  and with the time we spent performing together through the years, these two guys can read me like a book.

I will be driving over to Tucson for a couple  more rehearsals before the Festival, and I am confident we will provide a worthy set. It will include a couple tunes that are a musical departure from most everything I’ve done before. Please come see us on the Museum of Art Stage, on Saturday, 6 May 2017, at 1:30 PM.

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in Events, Folk, General Conversation, Guitars, Music, Music Performance, songwriter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

