Christmas Presents – Christmas Presence

In the traditional sense, we don’t Celebrate Christmas in our house.  But we sure do Observe it.  Christmas is the “Jambalaya” of holidays.  Everything is in it.  Beginning with the adaptation of a pagan celebration to a Catholic mass, and later becoming blended with cultural traditions from Europe and Scandinavia, Christmas is perhaps the most multi-cultural event in the calendar.  But it was we Americans who really infused it with its most predominant characteristic: Materialism.

But I’m not trying to throw cold water on anyone’s celebration here. Although I am now a Baha’i, I grew up as a Christian and have loved Christmas all my life.  I just try, these days, to remember “the reason for the season” – but that’s ALL of the reasons, and in due proportion. The material aspect – Christmas Presents – are at the bottom of my ranking, but the spiritual aspect – Christmas Presence – is on the top!

Christmas Presence is what you receive when you OBSERVE Christmas with an eye toward the Human Spirit.  It’s not the toys given by our police officers to impoverished children; it’s the tear in their eye when they do so.

Today my brother-in-law Scott (among whose many talents is electronic music) told me that he was so happy that I am a happily married man.  His expression of joy is Christmas Presence for me, and I am grateful for his love.  He and my sister care not only for their daughter Amy, but for several neighbors and friends as well.  They give Christmas Presence all year long.

There’s a mystic connection between the material Christmas Present and the spiritual Christmas Presence. When we CELEBRATE Christmas with presents, we’re really hoping to FEEL the Presence in our lives.  But we can actually receive the Christmas PRESENCE all year long if we first learn to OBSERVE.

Here’s our best wishes for true Spiritual Presence in your lives all year round.

///Darrell  & Deb
 
Darrell Rodgers                                             
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist

About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in General Conversation, Music, songwriter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas Presents – Christmas Presence

  1. Rachel says:

    Ah, if only all those people at the mall on December 24 had some Presence with their Presents, then at present I would have more presence in the season, but that is a question of patience, … which is for another blog.
    🙂

  2. Angelique Bolling says:

    Hi Darrell!

    I love the CD, and have spread the message in this blog to many people who would appreciate it.

    Since I’ve been attending an Episcopal Church here (they know I’m a Baha’i – only one in town, and although I know there’s one somewhere else in the county, I haven’t been able to find them), the priest had to move for medical reasons, and they’re now holding prayer services instead. It’s my turn this weekend, and the lesson is on the arrival of the Wise Men, and the concept that Christ’s message is for everyone, not just any particular group of people. I’d like to incorporate your ideas here into the discussion of the readings portion, with your permission, of course.

    Thanks for considering!

    {{Hugs}}

    Angel 🙂

    • Darrell says:

      Angelique,
      You certainly have my permission to incorporate these thoughts. They are pretty universal I find. It’s only that sometimes we get caught up in the agenda and forget the greater purpose.
      By the way, I’m sure you know that the “Magi” as they are also called, were Persian Zoroastrian priests whose own scriptures enable them to predict the arrival of the new manifestation of God. And isn’t it interesting that though commonly referrenced as “three wise men”, the Bible makes no definition of their actual number. It merely enumerates three “gifts”.
      I’m glad you are enjoying the CD.

      ///Darrell

  3. Angelique Bolling says:

    Well, you have a whole Episcopal church in this tiny Montana town fascinated by the Zoroastrian priests and the Baha’is view of Christmas. 🙂 The talk went really well, and I’m hoping to incorporate some of your music soon. 🙂 Thank you, so much!

    Angel 🙂

  4. Darrell says:

    Keep them asking for more!
    Isn’t it neat how expanding our view of what God’s Religion encompasses, enriches our minds and connects our hearts with other Faiths.
    One book, Many chapters.

    ///D

  5. Angelique Bolling says:

    Hmm, now you’ve got me thinking. There’s this coffee shop/restaurant in town (well, we do have more than one, but not many *grin*) that has live music on Friday nights. Practically the whole town shows up (okay, so if you subtract the kids, it still fills the room), particularly when there’s not snow on the ground… Ever thought about visiting Montana?

    {{Hugs}}

    Angel

Leave a comment