’til God Forgets

Well, I completed a recording of my latest song “’til God Forgets” and it’s here for your enjoyment:

Lord knows I struggle with recording. Maybe it’s a mental block. Maybe it’s just the frustration of not getting things to sound like I want them to sound.  But it sure wears me out!  Somewhere between “this sucks” and “good enough” lies “it’ll have to do”.  Maybe I will come back to this song and tweak it a bit more. Maybe I’ll just leave it.  In the words of Dr. McCoy, “Dammit Jim, I’m a songwriter not a recording engineer!”

There are some good lines in this song. I came up with chorus some time ago.
“I’m runnin of caffeine and cigarettes, in a zig zag pattern on trains and jets. Give Saint Peter my regrets, I gotta keep runnin ’til God forgets.” 

Like so many song ideas that pop into my head, these lyrics just laid around until I realized they fit a boogie riff I like to play (almost Arthur Smith’s Guitar Boogie, but not quite).  Once I put them together, the rest was relatively easy. But the song does take a slightly different course than one might expect of an “I’ve goofed up” lament. Here, the subject’s “big mistake” was telling her he loved her and then running away when the love was reciprocated. Idiot!

I’m looking forward to the day when I can get the trio to do this one.  With a REAL bassist and a REAL drummer, this tune could really get folks dancing!

///Darrell
Darrell Elmer Rodgers
Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist

About Darrell

Singer, Songwriter, Performer, Humorist
This entry was posted in blues, Folk, General Conversation, Guitars, Music, Music Performance, Music Recording, songwriter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to ’til God Forgets

  1. I will listen and re-listen to your recording, Darrell … which, btw, is perfect just the way you did it, from the heart. As a songwriter I know the feeling of never quite getting it right, and expressed some thoughts about it in my last post, titled “beautiful flaws” … I hope you will read it (and listen to my recordings, too). – tsk

Leave a comment